Feb 4, 2012; Boulder,CO,USA; Colorado Buffaloes forward Andre Roberson (21) blocks the shot attempt of Oregon Ducks forward Olu Ashaolu (5) during the first half of the game at the Coors Events Center. Mandatory Credit: Ron Chenoy-US PRESSWIRE

Pac-12 Conference Team Awards

Pac-12 First Team

Allen Crabbe, Jared Cunningham, Kyle Fogg, Jorge Gutierrez, Solomon Hill, Devoe Joseph, Brock Motum, Andre Roberson, Terrence Ross, and Tony Wroten

No surprises or snubs here, as this list is fair and straightforward.

Pac-12 Second Team

Carlon Brown, Lazeric Jones, Harper Kamp, Josh Owens, and E.J. Singler

The only name here that is somewhat surprising is Lazeric Jones, but he had a very good season and ultimately deserves a spot on the second team. However, things get a little more interesting once we get to the honorable mentions

Pac-12 Honorable Mentions

Justin Cobbs, Reggie Moore, Jesse Perry, Garrett Sim, David Wear, and C.J. Wilcox.

I honestly don’t get why Cobbs isn’t on the second team in place of Lazeric Jones, and the omission of Oregon State’s Devon Collier is a mistake. He led the conference in PER and is better than Reggie Moore and Jesse Perry, and he should have been selected in place of either one of the two WSU players.

Pac-12 All-Defensive Team

Jared Cunningham, Kyle Fogg, Jorge Gutierrez, Andre Roberson, Aziz N’Diaye

I seriously doubt that the people who select these teams have watched Andre Roberson on defense, because he was clearly the best defensive player in the conference. It wasn’t even close. Gutierrez won the award and won the Pac-12 POY award, and he wasn’t even the best player on his team this year.

In any case, the omission of Josh Owens is borderline moronic, because he and his fellow Stanford defensive standouts were better on defense than Fogg and Cunningham. And seriously, Cunningham? He couldn’t clean  David Kravish’s shoes on defense. I can cope with N’Diaye and Gutierrez on this list- they deserve it- but guys like Josh Huestis and Dwight Powell of Stanford have more of a case than everyone but Gutierrez and Roberson. Cunningham racked up steals, but so did Wroten and Wroten’s on-the-ball defense was better. Steals and blocks are two overrated stats, and it’s all about the new-age stuff like oPPP and DWS.

Best Five oPPP Players in Pac-12

1. Andre Roberson

2. Dwight Powell

3. Josh Huestis

4. Josh Owens

5. Eric Moreland

The problem with oPPP is that it favors forwards and isn’t a fair form of evaluation for guards, which is why defensive win shares is  better.

Defensive Win Shares Leaders in Pac-12

1. Andre Roberson

2. David Kravish

3. Terrence Ross

4. Josh Huestis

5. Josh Owens

My Pac-12 All-Defensive Team

G Tony Wroten

G Jorge Gutierrez

F Josh Owens

F Andre Roberson

C David Kravish

You can follow me on Twitter @SorianoJoe and Autzen Zoo @Autzen_Zoo.

Like us on Facebook at Autzen Zoo.

Next Ducks Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Nov 11 Nov4:30Stanford CardinalBuy Tickets

Tags: Allen Crabbe Andre Roberson Aziz N'Diaye Basketball Brock Motum C.J. Wilcox California Golden Bears Carlon Brown David Kravish David Wear Devoe Joseph Devon Collier Dwight Powell E.J. Singler Eric Moreland Garrett Sim Harper Kamp Jared Cunningham Jesse Perry Jorge Gutierrez Josh Huestis Josh Owens Justin Cobbs Kyle Fogg Lazeric Jones Oregon State Beavers Pac-12 Pac-12 Awards Reggie Moore Solomon Hill Terrence Ross Tony Wroten UCLA Bruins Washington Huskies Washington State Cougars

comments powered by Disqus