The Arizona Wildcats became the first Pac-12 team to win College World Series at TD Ameritrade Park and gives the conference it's first baseball champion since Oregon State in 2007. Photo Credit: Bruce Thorson-US PRESSWIRE

Pacific 12 Baseball Season Recap

Monday night the Arizona Wildcats captured their fourth national title in baseball and head coach Andy Lopez’s second (1992 with Pepperdine). Arizona became the third national champion in the last six years from the Pac-12, joining Oregon State who won back-to-back titles in 2006 and ’07.

The Wildcats joined last year’s South Carolina Gamecocks in going 10-0 in the current postseason format. Arizona also didn’t trail in Omaha which hadn’t been done since the 1991 LSU Tigers. With the season over here is one final look at the Pacific 12 baseball standings with the team’s overall and conference record. Also listed is how far in the postseason they went.

2012 Pac-12 Season Standings –
UCLA (20-10/48-16) – Finished 5th at the College World Series
Arizona (20-10/48-17) – Won national championship
Oregon (19-11/46-19) – Lost to Kent State in Eugene super regional in three games
Stanford (18-12/41-18) – Lost to Florida State at Tallahassee super regional in two games
Oregon State (18-12/40-20) – Lost to LSU at Baton Rouge regional in regional championship
Arizona State (18-12/36-20) – Didn’t make the postseason
Washington (13-17/30-25) – Didn’t make the postseason
California (12-18/29-25) – Didn’t make the postseason
Washington State (12-18/28-28) – Didn’t make the postseason
Southern California (8-22/23-32) – Didn’t make the postseason
Utah (7-23/14-42) – Didn’t make the postseason

Pac-12 Baseball National Champions –
Southern California Trojans, 12 (1948, 1958, 1961, 1963, 1968, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1978, 1998)
Arizona State Sun Devils, 5 (1965, 1967, 1969, 1977, 1981)
Arizona Wildcats, 4 (1976, 1980, 1986, 2012)
California Golden Bears, 2 (1947, 1957)
Oregon State Beavers, 2 (2006, 2007)
Stanford Cardinal, 2 (1987, 1988)

Arizona and UCLA made the College World Series last week so I thought I’d list the most recent appearances for the other Pac-12 members. Arizona State (2010), California (2011), Oregon (1954), Oregon State (2007), Southern California (2001), Stanford (2008), Washington (None), Washington State (1976), Utah (None) and even when they did field a baseball team Colorado hasn’t made a CWS.

Make sure that you like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter: @Autzen_Zoo and @MikeVmos 

Next Ducks Game Full schedule »

Tags: 2012 College World Series Andy Lopez Arizona State Sun Devils Arizona Wildcats California Golden Bears College World Series Colorado Buffaloes Ducks General Oregon State Beavers Pac-12 Pac-12 Baseball Southern California Trojans Stanford Cardinal UCLA Bruins Utah Utes Washington Huskies Washington State Cougars

comments powered by Disqus